ENERGY STAR® Qualified Homes and Buildings

An ENERGY STAR qualified facility meets strict energy performance standards set by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) by using less energy and emitting fewer greenhouse gas emissions than a majority of its peers. To qualify for the ENERGY STAR designation, a building must score in the top 25 percent based on EPA’s National Energy Performance Rating System. To determine ratings, EPA compares energy use among other, similar types of facilities in the database on a scale of 1-100; buildings that achieve a score of 75 or higher may be eligible for certification.

The national energy performance rating is a type of external benchmark that helps energy managers judge how efficiently their buildings use energy, relative to similar buildings in the U.S. The rating system’s 1–100 scale makes it easy to determine how a building is performing — a rating of 50 indicates average energy performance, while a rating of 75 or better indicates top performance. Buildings achieving a rating of 75 or higher are eligible to apply for the ENERGY STAR designation.

A building being submitted for ENERGY STAR certification must be verified by a licensed building professional to ensure qualification requirements such as energy use are accounted for accurately, that the building characteristics have been properly reported and that the building is fully functional in accordance with industry standards.

LEED Certification

In the United States and numerous countries around the world, Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) certification is the recognized standard for measuring building sustainability. The LEED green building rating system, developed and administered by the U.S. Green building rating system, is designed to promote design and construction practices that increase profitability while reducing the negative environmental impacts of buildings and improving occupant health and well-being.

The LEED rating system offer four certification levels — Certified, Silver, Gold and Platinum. These levels correspond to the number of credits accrued in the design categories. LEED certification includes a rigorous third-party commissioning process verifying the savings and environmental goals that were documented during the design process. There are many benefits to certification, including local, state and government incentives.

Evaluation, Benchmarking and Verification

Criterium-Farrell Yancy Engineers can evaluate your facility and benchmark its performance against peer buildings for you using EPA’s portfolio manager tool. As licensed professional engineers we can also verify eligibility qualifications for Energy Star certification and certify your application. We can also help you assess your building’s energy performance, establish a plan for energy management and recommend improvements to help improve your building’s energy efficiency.

The ENERGY STAR is awarded for one year at a time. A building that has earned the ENERGY STAR designation becomes eligible to reapply one year after the last energy data submitted as part of the previous year’s application. We can perform these annual assessments and verifications in order for you to maintain the certification for your facility.


More on Energy Star Qualification Guidelines

Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content
2019 Best Structural Engineers in Houston!

Read More